About The Gulf Cooperation Council

About The Gulf Cooperation Council

The Gulf Cooperation Council, also known as the GCC, is a political and economical union (a regional bloc of 6 states) that was created in 1968 and is made up of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

According to a report from the Economist Intelligence Unit titled “The GCC in 2020: Outlook for the Gulf and the Global Economy” sponsored by the Qatar Financial Centre (QFC) Authority:

“Over the past ten to 12 years, the Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC) region…has undergone rapid economic, demographic and social changes. Since 1998, the GCC’s real GDP has expanded by an annual average of 5.2% and by a cumulative total of 65%...The recent boom has focused world attention on the GCC economies - not only as exporters of oil and gas, but as investment destinations with major infrastructure projects, booming tourism and financial services sectors. As US economic growth has slowed, GCC investors have begun to diversify their assets more widely, making investments in Asia, Africa and within the Gulf region itself.”


 Map of the GCC

Explore GCC Countries



In this highly saturated and competitive fundraising environment, IFC can help you gain an advantage over your competitors by offering you the best consulting services from a team of highly trained professionals